
Richard Speck: The 1966 Nurse Murders, Trial, and Prison Life
Eight student nurses walked into their Chicago residence on the night of July 13, 1966; only one walked out. The court record that followed is unusually solid on what happened — even if the motive never fully closed.
Victims: 8 · Date of Crime: July 13–14, 1966 · Sentence: Death (commuted to 400–1,200 years) · Age at Crime: 24 · Location: Chicago, Illinois
Quick snapshot
- Eight student nurses were killed in Chicago on July 13–14, 1966 (Illinois Supreme Court opinion in People v. Speck).
- Speck was convicted and sentenced to death on June 5, 1967 (The New York Times archive).
- The death sentence was later overturned after U.S. Supreme Court rulings (Chicago Tribune retrospective).
- The court record does not state a motive for the attacks. (Connecticut General Assembly Office of Legislative Research)
- No accomplice has been substantiated in official documents. (Connecticut General Assembly Office of Legislative Research)
- The 1996 tape investigation was unresolved when the Connecticut General Assembly Office of Legislative Research reviewed it.
- July 13–14, 1966: the murders (Illinois Supreme Court opinion).
- June 5, 1967: death sentence (The New York Times archive).
- 1972: sentence changed (Chicago Tribune retrospective).
- Official court records remain the main reference for renewed coverage. (The Seattle Times archive)
- The 1996 video reshaped public memory of Speck’s prison years (The Seattle Times archive).
- The absence of a documented motive keeps the case active in true-crime discussions. (The Seattle Times archive)
Eight indictments, one trial, and a sentence that changed with the law: the official record keeps returning to the same rows.
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Crime date | July 13–14, 1966 (Chicago Tribune retrospective) |
| Victims | 8 student nurses |
| Original sentence | Death, imposed June 5, 1967 (The New York Times archive) |
| Sentence after 1972 | 400–1,200 years (UPI wire report) |
| Prison | Stateville Correctional Center (Chicago History Museum research retrospective) |
| Death | December 5, 1991, apparent heart attack (UPI wire report) |
What is the latest verified information about Richard Speck?
Recent findings from prison records
- A prison videotape surfaced in 1996, after Speck’s death. A Seattle Times archive report described it as showing drug use and sexual activity inside Stateville.
- The Connecticut General Assembly Office of Legislative Research noted that the tape investigation was not finished and no results had been released at the time of its report.
- Audio on the tape reportedly places the recording in 1988.
Updated biographies and documentaries
- Chicago History Museum’s retrospective describes Speck as Chicago’s first mass murderer (Chicago History Museum research retrospective).
- More recent coverage continues to rely on the 1968 Illinois Supreme Court affirmance and the 1967 sentencing report.
- No verified new evidence about an accomplice or a clearer motive appears in the official record reviewed here.
What this means: the newest revelations are mostly old records resurfacing in a changing media environment.
What should readers know first about Richard Speck?
Brief biography
- Richard Speck was 24 years old at the time of the murders.
- He spent the rest of his life at Stateville Correctional Center (Chicago History Museum).
- The nickname “The Birdman” comes from a tattoo, according to later retellings; the court record reviewed here does not describe the tattoo’s design.
Overview of the 1966 crime
- Eight student nurses were killed in a single Chicago residence on July 13–14, 1966.
- The grand jury returned eight separate murder indictments.
- A jury later convicted Speck and fixed the penalty at death.
The takeaway: the case is not short on documentation; it is short on explanation.
Which official sources confirm key claims about Richard Speck?
Court documents and trial transcripts
- People v. Speck (Ill. 1968) is the Illinois Supreme Court decision that affirmed the conviction and the original death verdict.
- The New York Times archive records the sentencing date and the judge: June 5, 1967, before Judge Herbert Paschen.
- Los Angeles Times archive shows how the 1987 parole decision was covered, including the 10-member board.
Police reports and autopsy records
- Chicago History Museum research retrospective documents Speck’s imprisonment at Stateville and labels him Chicago’s first mass murderer.
- Connecticut General Assembly Office of Legislative Research provides an official review of the unresolved 1996 tape investigation.
- The UPI obituary gives the cause of death as an apparent massive heart attack.
The implication: the most durable sources are judicial opinions and wire-service announcements, not retrospective documentaries.
What is still unclear or unverified about Richard Speck?
Unanswered questions about the motive
- The court opinions and news archives document the crime but do not settle why Speck chose that residence or those victims.
- No accomplice or co-conspirator was named in the official record reviewed here.
- Speck’s own explanation shifted in later accounts, which makes the psychological question harder to close.
Discrepancies in eyewitness accounts
- The sole survivor’s identification was a centerpiece of the trial, but the official documents in this research pack do not include a full transcript of her testimony.
- Later retellings sometimes add detail that the judicial opinions do not contain.
- The 1996 tape raised new questions about Speck’s prison life, but not about the crime itself (Seattle Times archive).
The catch: because the legal case was so conclusive, the unresolved story was never forced into the open.
The same legal system that spared Richard Speck execution also removed any chance of early release. For corrections officials, that turned a death-row case into a decades-long prison management problem; for the public, it left a documented killer with an unexplained motive.
What are the most common user questions on Richard Speck?
Questions about the crime detail
- Where and when did the murders happen? Chicago, on July 13–14, 1966.
- How many victims were there? Eight student nurses, all killed in one townhouse.
- Who was the survivor? Corazon Amurao, who identified Speck as the attacker.
Questions about Speck’s life after conviction
- Why was he not executed? The U.S. Supreme Court’s capital punishment rulings led Illinois to overturn the death sentence and impose a long prison term.
- Where did he serve? Stateville Correctional Center.
- How did he die? An apparent massive heart attack on December 5, 1991.
The trade-off: the public record answers the who, when, and where, while the why stays open.
True-crime readers who want the least distorted version of this case should follow the court documents, not the 1996 tape. The tape changed Speck’s image; it did not change the verdict.
Timeline: the documented sequence
- July 13–14, 1966: Eight student nurses are killed in a Chicago residence.
- June 5, 1967: Judge Herbert Paschen sentences Speck to death (The New York Times archive).
- November 22, 1968: The Illinois Supreme Court upholds the conviction (Chicago Tribune retrospective).
- After 1972: The death sentence is replaced with 400–1,200 years in prison.
- December 5, 1991: Speck dies of an apparent heart attack.
- 1996: The prison video surfaces.
The pattern: each legal milestone moved Speck further from execution and deeper into prison.
The 1972 commutation did not shorten Speck’s life; it redefined it. For parole boards, the 400- to 1,200-year sentence made release effectively theoretical.
What is confirmed and what is still unverified
Confirmed facts
- Eight nursing students were killed in Chicago on July 13–14, 1966.
- Speck was convicted and sentenced to death in 1967.
- He died of an apparent heart attack on December 5, 1991.
What’s unclear
- Why Speck targeted that townhouse and those victims has no documented explanation.
- Claims of an accomplice have not been substantiated in the official record.
- The full psychological picture at the time of the crimes remains contested.
- The 1996 tape’s exact date and context remain uncertain.
Voices from the record
“Richard Speck Dead of Apparent Heart Attack.”
UPI Archives, December 5, 1991
“Prison Video Shows Killer Taking Drugs, Having Sex.”
The Seattle Times, May 1996
Why the case still matters
Richard Speck’s case was solved, sentenced, and appealed, but it was never fully explained. For journalists covering old crimes, the record is clear: rely on the 1968 court opinion, the 1967 sentencing report, and the 1991 death notice before repeating later folklore. For true-crime readers, the next step is to treat the 1996 tape as a footnote, not a finale.
Frequently asked questions
How old was Richard Speck when he died?
He was 49. He died on December 5, 1991, and his reported birth date was December 6, 1941.
Where is Richard Speck buried?
No verified burial location appears in the court or archive records reviewed here.
Did Richard Speck ever show remorse?
No verified statement of remorse appears in the official case documents or news archives cited here.
What was the name of the survivor?
Corazon Amurao. She was the only survivor, and her identification of Speck was a central part of the trial.
How many people did Richard Speck kill in total?
Eight. The grand jury returned eight separate murder indictments, and the jury convicted him on all of them.
What was Richard Speck’s tattoo?
The nickname “The Birdman” came from a tattoo, according to later retellings, but the design is not specified in the official documents reviewed here.
Related reading